Norman's Tags and Title


New Resident


Welcome To Maryland




Maryland Law Requires That A New Resident Title And Register Their Vehicle Within Sixty Days of Taking Residence

A resident of Maryland is defined as:
    1. Anyone who is domiciled in Maryland.
    2. Anyone who owns, leases, or rents a primary place of residence in Maryland.
    3. Anyone who resides in Maryland for more than one year, regardless of where they domicile.
    4. Anyone who maintains a branch office or warehouse facility in Maryland and operates motor vehicles intra-state in the state of Maryland.
    5. Anyone who has filed as a Maryland resident for income tax purposes.


If you do not qualify for any of the above see Nonresident section.

Returning To Maryland

If your vehicle was previously titled in Maryland, in your name, and you had Maryland permanent metal tags on the vehicle:
    1. No Maryland Safety Inspection is required.
    2. Need Maryland insurance information:
        A. Company and binder or policy number
    3. You will surrender your current out-of-state title for a Maryland title:
         A. If your lienholder is holding your title
              a. Call Norman's for more information.
    4. No excise tax is collected.

New To Maryland And You Are The Private Owner Of The Vehicle

If you are currently making payments and your lienholder is holding your title:
    1. Call Norman's for more information.

If your vehicle is 2011 or newer:
    1. Maryland will allow you tax credit for excise tax you paid to another state:
         A. Unless you have had your Maryland driver's license for more than sixty days.
    2. If the excise tax you paid to another state is equal to or greater than 6%, you will pay $100.00 in excise tax.
    3. If the excise tax you paid to another state is less than 6%, you will pay the difference in the percentage, based on Maryland's book value of the vehicle.
    4. To receive tax credit you must title your vehicle within 60 days from the issue date on your Maryland driver's license.

If your vehicle is a 2010 and older:
    1. You will pay $38.40 in excise tax:
         A. No matter the make or model of the vehicle.
         B. No matter when you obtain your Maryland driver's license.

A Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate:
    A. Required for all used vehicles with the exception of Historic vehicles, Street Rod vehicles, some Gift Title Transfer exceptions, and Farm Area vehicles.
    B.  If your vehicle is inspected at an inspection station that offers an electronic inspection service (e-inspection), you will not receive an inspection certificate.  
    C. If a carbon copy, the white/green copy is the MVA copy and the gold copy is the buyer's copy.
    D. The inspection is valid for 90 days from the date recorded on the certificate. If not recorded within 90 days, the vehicle must be re-inspected. The same inspection may be used if the vehicle is transferred within 30 days of the inspection
date.
    E. If the vehicle has not passed a Maryland Safety Inspection, then you may apply for temporary tags valid for 30 days.

You will need:
    1. The original out-of-state title
    2. Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate
    3. Maryland Insurance information - company and binder or policy number
    4. If re-recording a lien:
         A. The original amount and date of the loan
    5. Driver's License:
         A. With a Maryland driver's license, Norman's can issue new tags, stickers, and registration in five to ten minutes.
         B. If you have an out-of-state driver's license, it will take Norman's one to two business days to process and obtain your tags and registration.

The vehicle will require emissions testing after you title and register in Maryland.
    1.  See Emissions section.

New To Maryland And Your Are The Lessee Of The Vehicle

1. Call Norman's to obtain the title for your leased vehicle from the leasing company.

2. Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate:
    A. Required for all used vehicles with the exception of Historic vehicles, Street Rod vehicles, and Farm Area vehicles.
    B.  If your vehicle is inspected at an inspection station that offers an electronic inspection service (e-inspection), you will not receive an inspection certificate.  
    C. If a carbon copy, the white/green copy is the MVA copy and the gold copy is the buyer's copy.
    D. The inspection is valid for 90 days from the date recorded on the certificate. If not recorded within 90 days, the vehicle must be re-inspected.  
    E. If the vehicle has not passed a Maryland Safety Inspection, then you may apply for temporary tags valid for 30 days.

3. If your leased vehicle is a 2011 or newer:
    A. Maryland will allow you tax credit for tax you already paid, with some exceptions.
    B. The issue date of your Maryland driver's license has no bearing on the excise tax assessed to you.

4. If your leased vehicle is a 2010 and older:
    A. You will pay $38.40 in excise tax:
         No matter the make and model of the vehicle
         No matter when you obtain a Maryland driver's license

5. Leased vehicles under 10,000 GVW have the option of obtaining a one or two year registration.
   
You will need:
    1. Original title
    2. Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate
    3. Maryland insurance information
         A. Company and binder or policy number
    4. Copy of your lease contract to calculate the excise tax you already paid, with some exceptions. Call Norman's for more information.

The vehicle will require emissions testing after you title and register in Maryland
.
    1. See Emissions section.

New To Maryland And A Company Is The Owner Of The Vehicle


If you are currently making payments and the lienholder is holding the title:
    1. Call Norman's for more information.

If the company vehicle is a 2011 or newer:
    1. Maryland will allow the company tax credit for excise tax paid to another state.
    2. If the excise tax the company paid to another state is equal to or greater than 6%, the company will pay $100.00 in excise tax.
    3. If the excise tax the company paid to another state is less than 6%, the company will pay the difference in the percentage, based on Maryland's book value of the vehicle. The Maryland MVA uses NADA for book values.

If the company vehicle is a 2010 and older:       
    1. The company will pay $38.40 in excise tax.
         A. No matter the make or model of the vehicle
    2. Maryland Safety Inspection is required if:
         A. The vehicle has never been previously titled in Maryland in the company's name.
             i.  If your vehicle is inspected at an inspection station that offers an electronic inspection service (e-inspection), you will not receive an inspection certificate.  
            ii. If a carbon copy, the white/green copy is the MVA copy and the gold copy is the buyer's copy.
           iii. The inspection is valid for 90 days from the date recorded on the certificate. If not recorded within 90 days, the vehicle must be re-inspected. The same inspection may be used if the vehicle is transferred within 30 days of the inspection date.
   3. Company vehicles under 10,000 GVW have the option of one or two year registration.  If the vehicle is over 10,000 GVW a one year registration is required.

You will need:
    1. Original title
    2. Maryland Safety Inspection Certificate
    3. Maryland insurance information
         A. Company and binder or policy number.





© Norman's Tags and Title  All rights reserved